CMS Releases Quality Measure Specifications for Meaningful Use


On Friday, CMS released technical specifications outlining how eligible professionals and hospitals must report their performance on clinical quality measures as part of their participation in the meaningful use program, AHA News reports (AHA News, 10/26).


Under the 2009 federal economic stimulus package, health care providers who demonstrate meaningful use of certified electronic health record systems can qualify for Medicaid and Medicare incentive payments.

Starting in 2014, participants in Stage 1 and 2 of the meaningful use program will be required to report their performance on certain clinical quality measures (Robeznieks, Modern Healthcare, 10/26).

The clinical quality measures include:

  • 64 measures for eligible professionals, who are required to report on nine; and
  • 29 measures for eligible hospitals, which are required to report on 16 (Goedert, Health Data Management, 10/26).

Also in 2014, the EHR certification process will include testing to ensure that EHR systems have the capabilities necessary for clinical quality measure reporting.

About the Technical Specifications

According to CMS, the technical specifications for reporting the clinical quality measures include:

  • Required data elements;
  • Definitions of the measures; and
  • Other factors related to the electronic capture, storage and transmission of the data (Modern Healthcare, 10/26).

CMS Offers Additional Resources

To help health care providers and EHR vendors better understand the clinical quality measure reporting process, CMS has made available:

to share your thoughts on this article.